The Islamic Republic of Mauritania


  • Founded: Nov 28, 1960
  • Population: 4.301 million (2016)
  • GDP: $5.063 billion USD (2017)
  • Area: 1.031 million km² (398,000 sq miles)
  • Calling code: 222
  • Capital: Nouakchott


Mauritania,  officially the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, is a country in the  Maghreb region of Northwestern Africa. It is the eleventh largest  country in Africa and is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west,  Western Sahara in the north, Algeria in the northeast, Mali in the east  and southeast, and Senegal in the southwest.